SaltCritters.com

New 10 gal, power head and surface skimmer only

Ohmegg

This is my new attempt. After success with a 20 gal biocube (Aquabox) Iv decided to try smaller and more minimalistic tank. Crushed coral bed, 8 lb dry rock, plus some dead bleached coral I found at grandmas house (fungia skeleton, boiled prior to adding). And some boiled oyster shells and sea shells.

Equipment:lights: Beamwork  12" EA 30 15x - 700 lumen 12x 10000K, 3x Actinic. $25

Cheap tetra heater from Walmart $10

60 gph power head with sponge zip-tied to intake $12

small surface skimmer box from Amazon $25

Last time I used "neutral" gravel in the 20 g. This is my first time with crushed coral. Wow, didn't know when bag said "minimal rinsing required " it meant, "waste 2 gallons of distilled water rinsing it then wait 3 days after putting it in tank for cloudy water to get better"
...the journey begins!

4E086B08-8715-4621-AD7C-09EA2FD0C291.png

• Like 2
  • 2 weeks later...

After adding 5 male "feeder" guppies ($.99 each). I added a bottle of freshwater "bacteria" from Walmart. Can't remember the brand but I'm sure it's garbage. Fed the guppies for a few days then left for a week. Came back, and started adding 1/4 cup of reef crystals dissolved into 1L of aquarium water twice a day. These little guys are tough. Added a few squirts of Dr.Tim's one and only once salinity got to 1.015. Keeping the lights on a 10 hr light cycle even though Dr.Tim recommends against it. 

8FAD8118-60A6-473A-B942-A84231B5CA43.jpeg

Still haven't used surface skimmer above water because there hasn't been any surface scum, just using it for flow at the moment. Got a candy cane LPS from LFS, they had their frag tank at 2.020 for some reason so that's what I'll keep mine at. Accidentally added almost the entire bottle of Dr.Tims after adding the coral. The coral looks happy for now but I may add a little salty pre-made water to the tank before I leave for a week. All the guppies look happy for now.