ReefCleaners.org

Next newb question. Water change or leave it

Adzyhany

I got my first saltwater tank 2 days ago and am cycling it with liverock. PH 8.2, ammonia 0.25, nitrite 0 and nitrate 20 now. My gut feeling is “it’s been two days, just leave it” but should I do a water change and see if everything levels out?

InAtTheDeepEnd

I think leave it. You want it so it's the bacteria processing the ammonia and it can't do that if you remove it with a water change. As there's no livestock in there it's best to just leave it be with minimal interference when cycling. 

0.25 is quite low for ammonia though. I could be wrong (probably am wrong lol!) But I thought it was recommended to dose to 2ppm with ammonia.

That’s what I was thinking. Just let it do it’s thing until the ammonia is at 0. But because I’m new to all this I was thinking that there’s enough nitrates that after a water change, the ammonia might be gone since it’s so low and the nitrates might level off and everything be stable. I’ll just test it every day or 2 until the ammonia is gone

also, will the nitrates come down at all on their own? Or is a water change the only way to bring them down?

Its cycling. Once ammonia, nitrite have risen and dropped to 0 a waterchange is performed to reduce nitrates to 10.

What kind of rock did you use?  Established liverock or dry rock?

4 minutes ago, Clown79 said:

Its cycling. Once ammonia, nitrite have risen and dropped to 0 a waterchange is performed to reduce nitrates to 10.

What kind of rock did you use?  Established liverock or dry rock?

It was cured, established liverock from the lfs. We picked it from their tank and kept it in a foam cooler with water for the 10 minute drive home. I set up the tank and added the water, got it up to 77 degrees in like 45 minutes and then added the rock and substrate.