Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

I need help.

FaintOfHeart91

FaintOfHeart91

So I have recently been given what i believe to be a pond loach, about 4 to 5 years old. Today i noticed a spot on the left side of his body near the back fin, is there any way I can treat this. And what product would be recommended. Hes in a 29 gallon tank alone so I dont believe I'd need to move him into a qt. Any advice would be greatly appreciated as I am new to keeping fish.

20210908_150814.jpg

• Sad 1

Oh no poor fish! I wish I had more experience to help, but I’m not sure… hopefully someone will chime in to help. What is that substrate? Is this a freshwater fish? If so maybe a freshwater forum can better assist? 

18 minutes ago, filefishfinatic said:

if theres no plants and things, dose copper. 

This is the worst possible advice you have given so far on this site. Please, PLEASE read up more on loaches before advising someone on how to 'medicate' their fish. With copper (!!!) of all things! :angry:

13 hours ago, FaintOfHeart91 said:

So I have recently been given what i believe to be a pond loach, about 4 to 5 years old. Today i noticed a spot on the left side of his body near the back fin, is there any way I can treat this. And what product would be recommended. Hes in a 29 gallon tank alone so I dont believe I'd need to move him into a qt. Any advice would be greatly appreciated as I am new to keeping fish.

20210908_150814.jpg

Please ignore filefishfanatic. He gives horrible advice and has a lot to learn about fishkeeping in general.

Pond loaches - or any type of loach, are categorized under 'scaleless' fish, although they do have very tiny scales, like in your pic. They are intolerant of copper and will die if you use copper or copper sulfate. Same goes for rays, sharks & eels.