Top Shelf Aquatics

Worm in newly established salt water tank

MrsJones91011

MrsJones91011

Hey there, I'm very new to saltwater tanks. The only reason I have one is because my daughters brought a bucket of shells home from the beach in July and as it turns out, 2 had hermit crabs in them 🤦🏼‍♀️ I rushed to petco once we realized and got a 10 gallon tank, some live sand, tank salt and lava rock. I honestly figured the would have died by now, but they've changed shells and molted once already so that's exciting. Tonight I noticed one one crab is out of its shell and hanging on the others shell. Idk if they are fighting or what, but I was taking a video to show my daughters in the morning. That's when I noticed this worm in a tiny shell👀 When I say it's a tiny shell, it's about the width of a pencil. It was also found at the beach, but was left on our counter for a few days before putting it in the tank. This worm, or should I say monster creature, had a very shrimp looking face/head, but the back end looked feathery. I made my 2 mind video into 2 gifs so I could hopefully figure out if it needs to come out or not. Please don't tank shame me, I'm only trying to give these hermits a decent life since they were removed from their home unintentionally! 🙈 Thanks in advance for any help! 

20210829_200624_1_1_1_1.gif

20210829_200624_1_1_1_2.gif

• Like 1
MrsJones91011
34 minutes ago, NoOneLikesADryTang said:

I don’t know what either of those are, but welcome to Nano-Reef! I think it’s wonderful that you saved the lives of those hermits! 

They are honestly super fun to sit and watch! 🐚

MrsJones91011
30 minutes ago, WormLicker said:

Oh those are freaky 👀

I can't Id but thank you for caring about their lives. No animal is too small/unrelatable to cherish. 

I agree completely! Raising my kiddos with that same mentality, too! ❤️

• Like 1
MrsJones91011
2 hours ago, Merthynia said: