Female Beginner

junebugs78

Sorry Guys!,

Beginner question..  I just bought a nano cube 28 gallon aquarium.  I'm housing 5 seahorses; two adults, three youngin's.  The water flow is way too fast for them and I cant figure out how to turn it way down.  The aquarium I bought was a display, so no instructions came with it! Thanks so much!!

What all do you have making the flow? A power head? A filter? We need a lot more details about what you’ve got going on. Most return pumps are adjustable, try lifting it out of the back (turned off of course), and google the manufacturer that should be listed on the label.

If your pumps have controller boxes, you may be able to turn them down, but if you have extra powerheads in the display section, you could also just remove them.  Seahorses need a fair bit of specific care and I am no expert, but another important thing for them is places to hold on to, so especially if they were already in the tank with this amount of flow, it could be that they just need more plants/gorgonians/etc to grab onto so they don't have to swim much of the time.

If you are looking for ways to control things that aren't obvious, a good place to start is to try to identify the equipment you have - manufacturer, model number, etc.  Some pumps, lights, and other things now can be controlled but don't have a physical controller, so you'd have to figure out what app they need to control them and how to reset them to be added to your own account.  In any case, taking inventory to see what is running goes a long way to figure out what you can change and how.

55 minutes ago, Merthynia said:

I’m also going to post this here so you can use the references within it. If this is your very first aquarium, sea horses are very difficult to care for without experience.