Innovative Marine Aquariums

why fishless cycle?

filefishfinatic

filefishfinatic

FYI: I AM A HOBBYIST NOT A CHEMIST, THIS IS ANECDOTAL

Why would you purchase an aquarium and then wait 6 weeks to purchase anything to live inside it? i might just be impatient but when i went into the hobby i wanted a fish tank not a glass box with some equipment on it. after researching and hearing advice from others, i realized that the 6 week cycle is bogus just like low tds air conditioner water and feeding 3 times a day. there is 3 ways to circumvent the cycling process* now 1st method is to use bottle bac, sand, and rock. the bacteria needs a stable ammonia supply, not an inconsistent dose of it. it can inhibit the bacteria because even though it eats the ammonia it can be harmed by it. a fish is a more stable source of ammonia. useed sand or filter media works the same 2. live rock. it circumvents almost everything that causes tank maturity on your rockwork. it gives you cryptic sponges, periphyton, copepods, and coralline. why wouldnt you get it. nowadays its sustainably aquacultured if thats your jam. it is just like bottled bac and its already active to boot. 3rd you can use live sand, this is the least effective method but live sand especially diver collected live sand has lots of microfauna and some bacteria. 

will you cycle your next tank after you heard this?  

*you still have to add fish slowly. for a nano tank start with 1 fish and get 2nd fish in the next 30 days then you can do 1 fish every week (this is more effective because you can make sure your tank is okay with the next fish)  for a bigger tank you can start with 2+ fish. a pair of clowns isnt necessarily a good starter fish because they can become very agressive. good choices include hawkfish, blennies, gobies, cardinals, grammas, mollies, filefish, puffers, and just about every other peaceable fish. Dont get fish until your water is clear.