inTank Media Baskets

fully automated nano reef

truckinreefer

truckinreefer

I'm a trucker and I'm on the road one week to two weeks at time. I absolutely miss having a reef system up. I was wondering how automated I could get a 20 gal Nano tank. it would just be all coral and no fish or shrimp. questions I have 

1. is there any equipment that can automatically add trace elements, calcium, and any other liquid need for the coral?

2. are there automatic feeders for coral or, is there a way I can do it?  

3.  is there a way to automatically fill up the tank while I'm on the road if the water runs low?

4. is there a way to add fresh or salt water if needed 

I'm still up in the air and really don't want to start a tank up unless I know 100% without a doubt I can have the tank running automatically. 

NoOneLikesADryTang
1 hour ago, truckinreefer said:

1. is there any equipment that can automatically add trace elements, calcium, and any other liquid need for the coral?

There’s a fantastic product out there by Tropic Marin called all for reef. It’s a single item to dose, that great at keeping your parameters stable and adding trace elements. I have ours set up on a single head doser, and it doses small amounts 8 times per day. 

2. are there automatic feeders for coral or, is there a way I can do it?  

I’m not aware of one, but I’m also not sure I’d be comfortable with one, in case it failed and dumped all of the food at once. It’s a tank crash waiting to happen. I’d argue why not just feed when your home? 

3.  is there a way to automatically fill up the tank while I'm on the road if the water runs low?

There are a bunch of ATO (auto top off) devices out there. You’d just need to have a large enough reservoir for your RODI water, to last while you’re on the road. 

4. is there a way to add fresh or salt water if needed

I’m not really sure what you’re asking here, it seems a lot like your third question, as far as auto top off is concerned. 

• Like 3