Top Shelf Aquatics

Clownfish on the sand bed on his side

steveschafon

steveschafon

Hi everyone!

I need some help, newbie here.

ive started a used 120G with used sand substrate(was still in water when I got it) I’ve started the tank with few quick start bacteria and added 2 damsel fish and 2 clowns.

the fish are very small so I’ve decided to add another 2 clowns(bigger ones) the day after.

ive got the water check many times and when I added the fish the ammonia was 0.

today about 3-4 hours ago I’ve noticed one of my smaller clowns was near the bottom of the tank and looked like he is struggling, few minutes after he looked normal again but after few minutes went to the bottom again.

right now he is on its side on the sand but still moving. His fins looks little broken and looks like there is some peeling/something  around the bottom of his mouth.

I can also see some very small white dots on his body.

Ive fed them today with many live(adult) brine shrimp and when I saw so many still floating in the tank after 10 minutes I’ve picked them up with a net. The fish behaviour started after ive started my skimmer for the first time.

temp is always between 77-78

do anyone have any idea what is happening? All of the other fish looks normal.

thanks!

I'm going to guess the issue is aggression from the new larger clowns. Tattered fins and damage to other parts of the body over a short time period sounds like abuse to me.

Typically, 2 clownfish in any tank is your limit unless you are specifically going to create a clown harem tank, which is its own complicated journey. Clownfish are incredibly territorial and don't often tolerate other clownfish. Sometimes even a pair of clownfish turns into a single clownfish due to abuse.