W1ll

fishless cycling with ammonium chloride

W1ll

Hey,

I am new to keeping saltwater aquariums and I am in the process of cycling my first tank. I have dosed 2ppm ammonium chloride and added a decent amount of Dr Tims One and only. Testing my parameters 48hrs later and I haven't really seen any drop in ammonia or any rise in nitrite. Doing some research, most people using Dr tims have seen at least some drop in ammonia by this time. Is it normal to take a a couple days to see the cycle begin or have I done something wrong?

dwdenny

I have read that it is hit or miss with Dr. Tim’s. I used Bio-Spira and the raw spring method to cycle my tanks. I put the raw shrimp in for 24-48 hours to get ammonia up high then add the Bio-Spira with in 10-12 days I was at 0 ammonia and 100 ppm nitrates. 

to answer your question yes it takes time. Some tanks go faster than others. Be patient is the key. 

seabass

:welcome: to Nano-Reef.com.

Don't worry about how long it takes.  And to be honest, nitrite levels don't matter a lot (just as long as it stays under 5ppm).

Wait for ammonia to drop to 0.25ppm; if that takes more takes more than 24 hours, then dose ammonium chloride back up to 2ppm and wait for ammonia to drop to 0.25ppm again.  Keep repeating until it takes less than 24 hours for your tank to process 2ppm ammonia down to 0.25ppm within one day.

It's alright to add another bottled bacteria product (like BIO-Spira) if you feel like it.  Either way, it should work out fine.

• Like 1

Snookin101

This may be the wrong hobby for you. If you are impatient after 2 days the road will be long and hard. I foresee a lot of frustration and death in your reefing future before a quick exit. 

• Like 1
  • Wow 1

W1ll
41 minutes ago, Snookin101 said:

This may be the wrong hobby for you. If you are impatient after 2 days the road will be long and hard. I foresee a lot of frustration and death in your reefing future before a quick exit.