ReefCleaners.org

I’m very new to this and need some help please!

Kate avery

Kate avery

I’m sorry if this is long I’ve never owned a sea horse before and these are a few of my many, many questions about them and there care. I really don’t want to get anything wrong because I could never imagine letting them die or becoming hurt because of something I did or failed to do. 

I’m considering getting seahorses, unsure what yet but definitely don’t like the look of the yellow ones, and I was wondering if copperband butterfly fish get on well with seahorses. There would probably be 2 SHs in the tank, at most 4. I know copperband eat anemones specifically Aiptasia ( I think it’s that one anyway, the white one). I’m worried if i put a few corals in the tank for the sea horses to hitch on or hide or whatever they do with them, anemones may grow, so wondering if I could have them with the seahorses to help get rid of any anemones that may appear. And any examples of corals that don’t sting or harm seahorses? Also what breed of seahorses are good for beginners, and what tank would I need for that specific breed, and are there any other specific or unique requirements said breed has, preferably not yellow seahorse like the linead ( think that’s how u spell it) seahorse and preferably a ‘pretty’ or ‘beautiful’ looking breed. And do I have to keep them in a small herd of about 4 or so or can I just have a pair that will breed. Any other advice about where to buy a tank, how big, filters, food, hitches, when to clean and how, things to keep the water clear, or any other fish that seahorses really like to live with, or if certain sea horse breeds get on well together, or any other general advice about them and where to buy it all and how to set all up and the total and weekly/monthly cost, how Deep the tank would need to be for the specific breed, etc. would be so so helpful.