Innovative Marine Aquariums

Bristle fish in my home

Jixxergirl

Jixxergirl

I am totally new to this so please bear with me as I have no place else to turn. The end of last week we started to see bristle fish (clear fish) show up in our ferrets fur. Thankfully my wife is good at spotting this stuff and taking it out. I know this probably sounds crazy but I do NOT have an aquarium. My house was built in 1908 and the main drain to the sewer burst in the wall last October. These fish are terrorizing the 2 of us along with my 4 ferrets. If anybody knows anything or has heard of this before please.......I am at my wits end. We believe they are coming up through the drains. Please, please lmk if possible. Ty!!!

What the heck? A bristle fish often refers to a bushy nosed plecostomus and I'm prety sure these are not on your ferret. This fourm is for aquariums fish and corals not insects I dont know how much help we will be but I'll give it a shot. If you are referring to "silverfish" or "lawn shrimp" they are not a fish they are an insect and a amphipod respectively. I've never herd of either of them getting on an live animal tho. Neither are "clear" silver fish are silvery elongated teardrop shaped bugs with bristles on there butt. lawn shrimp look like saltwater grammarys shrimp only more brown. Are you sure it's not lice? Google pictures of both and see. They both like damp dark conditions and eat organic matter if that is what they are they are probly feeding on dander on your animal giving it a flea and lice bath and finding where they are comming from should eliminate them they are probly in your house somewhere under sinks in closets around trash bins in bathrooms anywhere damp and dark. Untill you eliminate the source they may keep comming back. You may need an exterminator once you find them in the house.

Jixxergirl