NanoReefer2025

Bubble Tip Anemone Advice

NanoReefer2025

Hello reefers, I have come across the opportunity to obtain a bubble tip anemone for pretty cheap and was wondering if it would be worth looking into. I have a 25 gallon AIO peninsula that has two clowns, a royal gramma, and various inverts and soft corals. Unfortunately, I have been experiencing a bit of a diatom bloom, most likely because my tank is not fully established. If I were to get the anemone, it would most likely be next weekend. Would it be okay to purchase the anemone this early, or should I wait until the diatom outbreak has ended? Feel free to share any personal experiences or advice. Here is a link to my tank journal: 

DevilDuck

I think most are going to ask you to wait until your parameters stabilize or at least until the dino bloom completes itself.

For the record, I added a RBTA to my 3 month old tank and it is doing well.  I'm new at saltwater also so my experience may not be typical.

It's been a rollercoaster ride. They do wonder the tank quite a bit initially, so the first few weeks very eventful making sure it didn't sting any other coral or wedge itself into dark spot. They do weird things like expand very large then shrink down nearly into nothing for no good reason and spit out strange goo occasionally. 

Now, I have been struggling with keeping my alkalinity stable since coralline algae has started to appear. One of my zoa frags is pissed off and hasn't opened for a week. The RBTA seem to still be okay through my alkalinity swings. If you get a good specimen they are pretty hardy.

• Thanks 1

NanoReefer2025
3 hours ago, DevilDuck said:

I think most are going to ask you to wait until your parameters stabilize or at least until the dino bloom completes itself.

For the record, I added a RBTA to my 3 month old tank and it is doing well.  I'm new at saltwater also so my experience may not be typical.