Innovative Marine Aquariums

2 Gallon Crookie Jar

Crookies

Hey everyone! Before I get started I just want to let everyone know that I am new to the saltwater hobby so if you have any tips/tricks or feedback to provide, please do so! 👍 

This idea of starting a pico reef jar came from a post that I saw on reddit awhile back and thought it was fascinating. I sit at my desk a lot because of college (online now cause of COVID :sideeyes:) and figured a pico jar would be perfect for my computer desk. Anyway, I've been secretly lurking on this forum for about 3 months now, attempting to obtain as much knowledge as I can from all of you experienced aquarists. Well, fast forward to today, I've successfully gathered all the supplies, cycled my tank, and recently added two of my very first corals. I'm super excited to continue this pico reef journey and I hope I don't screw it up! fingerscrossed

Tank Established: January 10, 2021

Equipment:

• 2 gallon Anchor Hocking jar
  • 25w heater from Amazon
  • Tetra whisper air pump and air stone
  • PicoPro LED light and lid
  • Couple lbs. of live rock from LFS
  • Live sand
  • BioSpira nitrifying bacteria and ammonium chloride to accelerate the cycle

Stocking List:

• Pulsing Xenia
  • Ricordea Florida
  • More coming soon!

Here are a few shots of the jar (sorry not the best quality and didn't get many pictures up to this point):

50885676506_908a8b3758_o.thumb.JPG.f3cf3d418b52c74f11963138fa009f66.JPGIMG_1029.thumb.JPG.ad0a899c2961c14f502e0a8cf2c7f47c.JPGIMG_1041.thumb.JPG.3ca80b0aec206423dcc382b696f6bdec.JPG

Updates to come as things move along 👍

Thanks for looking!

• Like 6

Welcome to NR. Looks perfect for a desk top. I would imagine you saw more than a few using that exact jar and have seen what works in these picos. I hope you enjoy but no slipping on your studies. Ha Ha        Good luck with your jar of SW and welcome to reefing! 

• Like 3
4 hours ago, Crookies said: