ReefCleaners.org

Reef-PI Build on NAno

Julio Abreu

Hey Guys,

I'm new to the forum and a "legacy" hobbyist. I shut down my last saltwater aquarium more than 10 years ago in Brazil. But now that I'm leaving in US and with all the pandemic-stress I decided to go back to the Reef world with a nano. I started a Fluval Evo XII with standard configuration about a month ago. Its doing pretty well and I already have a little ocellaris as well as some soft corals.

But as my other hobby is DIY and I'm a IT professional I decided to just blend everything together and bring some automation to the reef! 😀

So after some experimentation with Arduino and some research, I decided to move forward with a Raspberry PI based project as this controller/micro-computer offers everything I need like wifi, video outputs, and can run a webserver.

Also, I dont want to reinvent the wheel, so I decided to leverage as much as possible from the Open source Reef-pi.  Its a very well maintained project with lots of material available on-line. The main author, Ranjib Dey have also very good Tutorials like this one:

https://learn.adafruit.com/reef-pi-installation-and-configuration

I will be posting the advance of the build here to share and mainly to get your feedbacks and inputs.

For now I have already configured the software and implemented a temperature sensor. So let me start by that.

Material so far:

Raspberry PI 4B 2GB RAM (you can use other versions, I just went with the latest one... you know, Im an IT Nerd 😁) - 35.00 USD from Adafruit https://www.adafruit.com/product/4292

Protoboard and Jumper wires - Less than 10.00 USD on Ebay

Temperature Sensor Kit - 8.99 on Amazon https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B087JQ6MCP/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o05_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1 - Strongly recommend this one as it comes with the required resistor so you dont need to solder anything (I hate soldering).