inTank Media Baskets

Placement

Lisareefer

5 hours ago, Lisareefer said:

I’m new to setting up my salt water 29 gallon tank I have a redsea50 for lighting.

Coral looks fine there....in the lower-third of the tank.

Have you measured how much light you're putting into the tank in PAR or lux?  What are test results (everything) like for your tank water?  Also, how old is your tank?

Tests are fine. All parameters are perfect. My tank is about six months old.   I know I need to get a PAR.  My next purchase today.    Any thoughts on a brand?

17 hours ago, burtbollinger said:

lower the better at first...

I’ve had him for About a month. But I need to place him somewhere permanently because water flow pushes him down sometimes. Thank you

2 hours ago, Lisareefer said:

Tests are fine. All parameters are perfect. My tank is about six months old.   I know I need to get a PAR.  My next purchase today.    Any thoughts on a brand?

Don't buy a PAR meter. They are extremely expensive and you will only need to use it once to map the tank. Borrow one locally from a club or your local reefing Facebook group. If that's not possible, rent one online.

It looks like a chalice coral and is going to be an encruster that plates a little bit. What power are you running your lights at?

4 hours ago, Lisareefer said:

Tests are fine. All parameters are perfect. My tank is about six months old.

😬 I don't mean to be superstitious, but whenever a newbie says their tests are "fine" or "perfect" there's almost a 100% chance of that being not true.  Can you post the actual tests that have been done and the actual results?  What you are testing for is interesting as are the actual test results.

I know I need to get a PAR.

Any kind of light meter will do for our meager purposes. A PAR meter is great, but also tremendous overkill.