Cultivated Reef

New Waterbox 20 Cube Build (noisy pump issue)

Ekar

Hi, thought I would introduce my new reef build to the forum, as I'm a beginner and will most likely be seeking advice and information from the community periodically. 

For now, it's not much to look at - just a box filled with sand/rock/water. In time I hope to stock with soft and LPS corals, upto 4 fish, and cleanup crew. The tank is currently cycling. 

My biggest issue at the moment is that I'm experiencing quite a loud buzz noise with the current pump (a Sicce Syncra Silent Water Pump 1.0). I feel this isn't acceptable (pretty disappointed really) and am pretty desperate to solve this issue, since I'm sure it's wearing on my wife.  I've wrapped this in filter sponge material, but the noise persists. Taking the pump outside of the back chamber (and putting in a larger volume of water for eg), the pump sounds quiet. So this doesn't seem like an issue with the pump itself. I took it to the fish store I bought it from and they said the pump is working normally. Testing some more, I took the tubing off when the pump was in the back chamber, and the noise went away. So maybe it's that?  Checking online, others have suggested using silicon tubing. I'll try today to get some (is the default tubing which comes with the Waterbox 20 rubber or silicon?) 

If anyone else has any experience with pump noise in the Waterbox 20, and a solution or a pump recommendation, I'd love to hear it! 

Thanks! 

Ekar

newtank.jpg

• Like 1

I have the exact same pump in the exact same setup, what I have done is while it is on grab it by the cord and jiggle it a bit, maybe 3-4 seconds.  Then turn it off and on again.  Sometimes I have to do that a few times, but eventually it "resets" and goes super quiet.  You will know the second you turn it on that it's been fixed just by how much quieter it is. (I also used silicon tubing from BRS and a silicon kitchen mat cut to size for it to sit on, it helps)