SaltCritters.com

Nano Marine Help

marinenewbie88

marinenewbie88

Hi everyone,

Complete newbie to marine set ups here, after many years of freshwater set up experience. I've decided I'd really like to take the plunge with marine and am rather taken with the idea of a nano tank (space is very limited in my house!) 

I found this from a few years ago online and thought "wow, that's exactly what I want!" but lo-and-behold it seems the product is no longer in production: https://www.practicalfishkeeping.co.uk/features/how-to-set-up-a-tmc-microhabitat-15-marine-nano-aquarium/

So I'm hoping to try to piece it together myself, or the main bits of it anyway (I don't think I will need a skimmer on such a small tank?) I'm asking on here to see if any of you might be kind enough to provide me with a bit of an essentials shopping list, plus a couple of reliable websites where I could order everything from at a (hopefully) reasonable price? The reason I'm asking is that I'm thinking this would make a perfect thing to ask my OH for Christmas, so I'd like to be able to point him in the right direction online to get bits.

I know the proposed tank size is tiny, but I'm not even worried about keeping fish particularly -  I would just like to set something up akin to what has been set up in the PFK article above,

Many thanks for your help!

Welcome to the Reefing Hobby! I currently have a 6 gallon Reef that is nearing the end of its cycling process. It isnt necessary but i have an Auto Top Off System on my tank and i find that it is really helpful with keeping the salinity stable, and especially in Nano tanks, stability is the key to success. Good luck with your first tank! 👍

• Like 1
18 hours ago, marinenewbie88 said:

Hi everyone,