Cultivated Reef

Newbie looking for advice on picking a tank

DGibster

Hello all, I'm a reef tank newbie looking to get their first tank when the money becomes available. Until that happens I have been doing my due diligence with tons of research into reef tank care, coral requirements, suitable fish, etc. One of the supremely important things that I am having trouble deciding on is what tank I should buy. The criteria are as follows:

• Must be relatively affordable for an all in one, or otherwise justify the cost in other savings
  • Between 20 and 30 gallons, give or take
  • Integrated sump in the rear of the tank
  • Rimless, though not necessary, is highly desired
  • A tank that comes with a stand is also desirable
  • Lights capable of growing most corals is nice/potentially money saving
  • Anything else that makes tank maintenance easier is a bonus/desirable

Based on this, the main LFS store that I've been using recommended the Aquatop Recife 24G Tank and Stand Combo (https://www.aquatop.com/products/recife-eco-24g-tank-stand-combo) and offered one to me for 400$, something which seems like a steal in my eyes. He claimed that the light it comes with should be enough for the corals I want to grow (softies and maybe some LPS), however, upon further research, most people recommended switching out the lights for those intending to grow any type of coral. In addition, the protein skimmer is nigh on useless without some adjustment or replacement. Ok, I thought, not a huge deal, I could use the spare light to turn one of the sump chambers into a refugium like some others mentioned so its not a complete waste.