Top Shelf Aquatics

Frequency of Water Changes?

igorres

Hello everyone!

I am new to reefing, and I of course started out with a nano tank in my college dorm room (non-ideal, I know). I have a standard 10 gallon tank with about 10 pounds of aquacultured live rock, one inch of live reef sand, an Aquaclear 50 HOB filter with activated carbon and filter floss, Coralife Marine clip-on lighting (I'm only planning on keeping soft corals and potentially some low-light LPS corals), and an inexpensive HOB ATO. I cycled my tank using Dr. Tim's live nitrifying bacteria and ammonia, and after two weeks, my tank was able to cycle 2 ppm of ammonia to 0 ppm ammonia, nitrite, and nitrate in 24 hours.

I have added the following livestock: 6 blue leg hermit crabs with lots of extra shells, 6 turban snails, 1 peppermint shrimp (I had a small aiptasia problem that's been taken care of), an orange sponge (I know they're difficult to care for, but it was free), tons of micro brittle stars, pink colt coral, green mushrooms, some zoas, green star polyps, and pulsing xenia (the last two are isolated on a piece of live rock).

I feed with Reef Chili every three days, and sometimes I drop in some seaweed pellets and regular sinking pellets for the snails/hermits/shrimp if there isn't enough algae in the tank.

I'm wondering how often I should be changing the water. I initially was doing 20-30% water changes weekly, but recently there has been 0 ppm ammonia, nitrite, and nitrate (sometimes ~5 ppm nitrate) before I go to change the water (I guess Dr. Tim's works?). Should I still change the water? I'm worried if I don't that I will not have enough iodide for when the shrimp molts.

Thanks everyone! Sorry if this was already answered. I can post pictures later.

:welcome: to Nano-Reef.com.