Pod Your Reef

Nero3 or Nero5 on a 29G standard

Phantomwerkz

Currently running a pair of eFlux 660's for power heads in the upper half of the tank, but thinking I'd like some more flow/wave action along with controllability. I'm thinking the Nero5 might be a great upgrade for my setup? Would a single Nero5 on one side (turned down on power) be enough for the whole tank?  Also, keep the 660's for surface agitation or ditch them all together?

Thanks for any suggestions.

Couple of variables here. What kind of coral you keeping or wanting to keep? Nero 3 is a 2000 gph power head. Pretty decent flow there! Then you said you're leaving your 2 current ones running. Plus you have whatever filtration you're using thats generating some flow correct? Your aqua scape also adds another variable. 

4 hours ago, ReefGoat said:

Couple of variables here. What kind of coral you keeping or wanting to keep?

Total beginner here in the Coral department so really haven't set that plan yet.  Most likely Softies and possibly LPS from what I understand I should be starting out with as a beginner. 

Nero 3 is a 2000 gph power head. Pretty decent flow there!

Yup... just wondering if a single 3 is enough for the whole tank.

Then you said you're leaving your 2 current ones running. Plus you have whatever filtration you're using thats generating some flow correct?

I was asking if I should leave them or not to maintain some additional surface agitation since I have a HOB Tidal 110 that is basically set on lowest setting now (picture below had it running higher then) just to cycle some water and make up for some additional water volume. Only running stock filter media though planning to run some floss as well.

Your aqua scape also adds another variable. 

Aqua scape essentially like so, though both 660's have been moved up a bit more from here.

1881937024_IMG_20200627_0935394072.thumb.jpg.895913c374a3ed7216ca36791f944e36.jpg