ReefCleaners.org

Not having success

Llorgon

As the title says, I am relatively new to reefing, but I have not been having much success with corals or my tanks in general. Fish I can keep alive, but corals seem to do well for a few months then slowly die off.

Looking for some advice on how to get my tank back on track.

I have been reefing for 3 years.

First tank(10 gal)
Had some success for a few months corals were growing, minimal algae. Then corals started going downhill and algae took over. I later learned that I had to be dosing alk, cal and mag.

Second tank(75 gal)
Had some success for a few months, good coral growth. Then a power head melted in the tank and killed everything. All fish, snails, corals everything.

Second tank.2 
Restart of the 75 gallon started well. Corals were doing well. I was seeing growth with lps and sps. Then slowly all the growth stopped and corals would go downhill even with parameters in check. I ended up with dinos then gha after getting past dinos. Tank was shut down when I moved.

Current tank(IM 25)
I'm seeing the same problems with my current tank. Gha is taking over and corals are not as happy as they once were. All growth of the corals seems to have stopped.

A little about the tank
  • IM 25
  • 4 fish
  • A few snails and about 3 hermits. I need more cuc, but it's been tough to get some here.
  • Sicce 1.5 return pump
  • Ghost protein skimmer
  • Mp10 - 80% max reef crest mode
  • Radio xr 30 - on 9am off 9pm, 30% intensity LPS mode. I think I need to bump the intensity. I bought a seneye with par meter and some of the readings were pretty low. Not sure what I should be aiming for in a lps tank.
  • 15lbs rock

Tank params are:
Salinity: 1.025
Temp: 79
pH: 8.2
Ammonia: 0
Nitrite: 0
Nitrate: 0
Phosphate: 0.012
Alkalinity: 8.4
Calcium: 450
Magnesium: 1350

Dosing/husbandry
  • Not dosing any elements. Params stay in check with water changes
  • 5 gal weekly water changes