ReefCleaners.org

Tank Transfer Flatworms- CoralRx, Flatworm Exit, or FW Dip???

fish04

Hey folks- been a member her for years, but sort of went radio silent for a while. I have been chugging along with different sized tanks for the past 30 years. My established 10 nano is now being upgraded to a 40 cube. I want to bring most of the stuff over to the new tank, but I have a problem- flatworms. Red ones to be exact and lots of them. I have been siphoning them out from time to time and even tried "rinsing" the rocks in a weak saltwater solution once (that almost crashed the tank- toxins got released and  it was touch and go for a while). I am happy to start over in the new 40, actually would be nice to start fresh, but I have a few pieces I'd like to keep for sure- plus I would like to seed the Coraline in the new tank so some of it needs to come along.

So my question is- Coral Rx, Flatworm Exit, or freshwater dip to get rid of these things before i bring them over? I have read a ton on this, but I can't decide. I don't want to poison my new tank before it even gets started with Planaria toxin. I would like opinions based on real usage in a similar situation- I have read everything I can read at this point.

New tank is a 40 cube, cycling with Dr Tim's as we speak, new rock in that tank is an old rock harvest that I scored on Craigslist (for $1/lb) and has been bleach cured.

Thanks in advance!

I think you want to treat the old tank before you start doing any transferring.  Ideally wait a few weeks after treatment for observation too.  Then if all looks good (corals healthy; flatworms not visible) then go ahead with the move.

• Like 1

Thanks for the reply, but that really doesn't answer my question.I want to know what works best from someone who has gone through this and which method is least likely to cause a toxin spill (dip or treat entire tank).

I'm not sure what other info you're looking for?