Innovative Marine Aquariums

How Many/What Fish can I Put in my 20g Cube Tank?

Slash-GNR

Hello! I am new to this forum and also the saltwater aquarium hobby in general. I have only kept a couple of Betta fish in the past that have lived out full lives, and now I want to graduate to saltwater. I have done a lot of research regarding saltwater nano tanks, and have read that 3-4 small fish can be kept in a 20g. I wanted to get other people's thoughts on this? I also want to add beginner coral in the future (I want to be sure I can keep fish alive and well for a little bit with just live rock.) If I do that, how long should I wait before i put my first coral frags in the tank? And will this affect how many fish I can keep in the tank?

For the fish, I know I want a pair of clownfish. Anymore suggestions?

I apologize if I am slow to understand. I'm still learning, so please have patience with me.

Thank you!

3-4 small fish is reasonable, yes. I would recommend only 3 unless one of them is a very small fish, like a clown goby. 

A shrimpgoby/watchman goby and a pistol shrimp make for an amazing symbiotic relationship to watch, will stay out of the clowns' way to avoid aggression issues, and are entirely suitable for a nano tank. Pick one of the smaller gobies, preferably, something in the 3" range. A tiger or candycane pistol shrimp is a good match.

If you had two clowns (get the "nemo" variety, in any color variation you want) and a small shrimpgoby, you could add a clown goby as your third fish. They taste bad, so clownfish won't nip them, and they perch up on the rock where they won't bother the shrimpgoby. A neon goby is another candidate. Or you could not have a fourth fish for awhile, make sure the tank can handle three like it ought to.