Cultivated Reef

Fixing old mistakes - give me a hand, please!

Chriss Fishes

Chriss Fishes

I've been a bad hobbyist. I haven't QT'd - I know, I know! I'm terrible. But I'm repenting for my reefing sins before anything too bad can happen. I've got a juvenile yellow tang in my 55 FOWLR that's showing signs of ich (I'm relatively confident that it's not velvet, as I'm not seeing any dusting on the body, just a few spots on fins) every now and then. It'll flare up after some sort of stress, and then once the parasites drop off, they don't seem to come back for a second round - not visibly, at least. The latest incident was caused by me adding a molly to the tank, I think. She had no previous immunity, so she was covered in ich for a few days, which I guess could have caused the amount of parasites in the tank raise, which caused an outbreak on the tang? I'm not sure - but it sounds smart to me!

Regardless, I'm now trying to figure out the best way to treat all of my tanks, as most of them have had some sort of contact (shared fish, rock, nets, etc...), and none have been QT'd. Basically, I'm asking what you guys would do in this situation, and am trying to figure out the best way to proceed without crashing and burning. Here's what I'm doing for each of my tanks:

55 Gallon FOWLR:

Stock List:

1 Juvenile Yellow Tang

1 Clarkii Clownfish

1 Yellowtail Damsel

1 Green Spotted Puffer

1 Molly

1 Banded Snake Eel

Symptoms:

Tang has been showing ich spots. Minor outbreaks caused by stress - I'm pretty confident that it is ich, and not velvet. Molly has previously shown ich, but seems to have built up some resistance to it. No other fish appear ill.

Treatment Plan: