Pod Your Reef

Shrimp appreciation thread ~

Dolphins18

Hello,

Shrimp are not only a vital part of any aquarium (assuming conditions are right) but they also can be incredibly beautiful and fascinating pet's if taken care of correctly. 

This thread is simply for people to spread knowledge about all the wonderful species of shrimp; but also to inform others on your successes and failures when it comes to keeping different species of shrimp.

I am no expert but ill start with talking about the coral banded I have had for about 4 and a half years. The first time he molted (essentially getting rid of dry skin, but it appears as an entire "shell") I thought he was dead, becoming one with the mp40. Though I have seen shrimp molt before, I have never a shell look so lifelike. 

All it took was a feeding and he was happy as ever, though they will not survive in a tank with predator fish, or inverts. They are very vulnerable after molting and should not be with predator's, and should be given plenty of spots to hide and feel safe, as we do in our homes. 

I will share my experience with several different shrimp species - I have had dozens of peppermints throughout the years, never seeing one last longer than 2 years, Great shrimp for aiptasia, yet only two of many species actually eat aiptasia. The main one being  Lysmata Wurdemanni. Attached you can find a picture of many different peppermint species (Species A. is the Lysmata Wurdemanni). Please, if you are looking for aiptasia eating shrimp, use this guide, if not for the animals sake, do it for your wallet. 

image.thumb.png.1017a55f52e82e49a042632d0520c49e.png

I do believe one other very unpopular species eats aiptasia as well, if someone could chime if they know which one it is, that would be awesome.