Top Shelf Aquatics

Ammonia, nitrite rising after adding an additional filter?!

Parfitt1234

Parfitt1234

HELP! 

I have a 105L tank and I had some problems before but now it seemed to be fine and ammonia and nitrite were 0. However today I purchased another filter to add to my aquarium. A much more powerful filter (canister filter) which processes 1000L an hour. 
Today I’ve seen a rise in ammonia and nitrite? I haven’t taken anything from the tank, I’ve still got my other filter going and have live rock. I did a water change today aswell. Maybe 30/40%. 

im wondering if anyone can help me figure out why I’m getting a rise. Do you think it’s because the new filter is pumping in so much water that the old filter is not really working as much? Should I add the filter media from my old filter to the cannister filter so that it passes through it with the more powerful pump?

im a beginner so still learning.

thank you

That sounds like something might have died and is now decaying, or like the water you used for the water change had ammonia in it. A new filter shouldn't cause an ammonia spike. 

• Like 1
Parfitt1234

The only thing I can think of is a tiny turbo snail which I found dead yesterday. But I mean tiny, I can’t even find it. An there was no ammonia in the new water 

Parfitt1234
17 minutes ago, Tired said:

That sounds like something might have died and is now decaying, or like the water you used for the water change had ammonia in it. A new filter shouldn't cause an ammonia spike. 

Do you think I should add the older filter media to the new canister filter so it passes through that more? Or just keep the two running?

Most of your biological media is in the rockwork. The filter should have little to nothing to do with it, especially if water is still going through the old media at least a little bit. 

How much of a rise are you seeing? 

Is it possible the filter was cleaned with ammonia, for some reason? 

Parfitt1234