inTank Media Baskets

Rainbow Anemone not sticking and opening up

AnandBT

Hi All,

I am a Marine newbie. My Tank specs are as follows:

1. Dimensions:36*18*18 (Inches)

2. Age: 6 months

3. Current Live stock: 1 Royal dotty-back and 3 Red hermit crabs

4. Lighting: Radion G3 PROD. It is set with the predefined template that comes up while Radion for Soft/LPS corals.

5. Wavemaker: Turned off since yesterday

6. Water Params: 

a. Salinity: 1.024-1.025

b. PH- A little less than 8.

c. Nitrate: 2

d. Nitrite: 0

e. Ammonia: 0.15

I have recently brought home a Rainbow Bubble Tip Anemone. It was in good condition with no damaged foot. I drip acclimated it for around 3 hours before introducing it to the tank. While it was getting acclimated, I saw it sticking to the bag in which it was brought in. Then I introduced it to my tank and placed it on the live rock yesterday. The flow has been turned down and I presently have negligible flow in my tank. 

Ever since I brought it home, it just randomly falls off the rocks often with its tentacles facing down on the sand bed. It is all closed up. I have been reading a lot about this behavior but have seen mixed responses about some saying it it is normal and other saying its dead. Anemone-Beforejpeg.jpeg.0cce09cc692b8447f9104568acd66d9d.jpeg

Hereby attaching some pictures for Advanced aquarist to answer. Before is a picture of the Anemone under T5 at the aquarium shop. After and After 1 images illustrate mine.

All Help is appreciated. 

After.jpg

After-2.jpg

Was it shipped to you, or did you purchase it local?  When you say recently, how long ago are we talking about?

It is a little concerning that it doesn't want to stick.  However, that's not necessarily a death sentence either.  You'll want to watch for it to turn inside out or start to disintegrate (those or more definite signs that it's dying).

• Like 1
14 hours ago, seabass said: