Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

Is my live rock aqua-cultured/quality?

Bryanev

Hi! So I’m rather new to this and just setup our new nano reef - we are on week four (one week post cycle). Majority of the rock was added upon setup - and a few recently from the same LFS. IVE My question is, does it seem painted? I’m not as concerned about the calcareous algae as I am about it leeching into the water? The live rock tank it came from had some fish, and the rock is still covered in small sponges/live feather worms, as well as a 2 inch brittle star we found, but if I break it open it appears smooth and white. Is this still functional for beneficial bacteria? I’ve included some pics, any advice is appreciated! 

3BC3FF13-098B-46C8-9387-BD52E21040D0.jpeg

18F8349C-58A3-42F7-9DB6-554A9720BA60.png

6034A642-8EEF-4799-B181-239077A748DC.jpeg

3CC354F2-AD1D-425C-9DAF-4CAA0E315835.png

mitten_reef

Those look like “real reef” rock, an alternative man made product to live rock. You can look up manufacturer and info on them here.  They are one of few painted products on the market; caribsea Life Rocks and Walt Smith’s are the other two that came to mind.  many man made, and/or land-based products out there these days that are good substitutes to live rocks harvested from the ocean. As long as the life forms (feathers and real coralline) on them are happy, I’d leave them be. 

• Like 3

It won't be "painted" with anything like latex paint.  It could be a dye; and I'm almost positive that it's reef-safe.

You can scrape coralline algae off with a knife.  There's a possibility that being in their tanks, long enough for filter feeders to take residence, that the rock does contain some coralline as well.

It seems like decent enough rock, and you've built a nice aquascape.  Good job.  Nice clowns too.

:welcome: to Nano-Reef.com.

• Like 1

Painted rock...but people use it just fine...