Melfy77

another 12g ''not quite sure what kind'' reef tank

Melfy77

I've been keeping saltwater tanks for a few years, but it's always an exciting project to start a new one. I currently have a soft coral reef tank in my IM 25g lagoon, but for some reason I'm just not quite happy with it. I have 5 fish in it, including an ocellaris clownfish who became M. Mean a few weeks ago, so it has to go. Giving the fact that I like having a fish tank in my bedroom and currently don't have one, I thought ''hey there's a good excuse to set up another tank''!! I had a standard 10g in my basement so I grabbed it. However, since getting my lagoon, I've realized 2 things:

1) I LOVE shallow tanks and will not tolerate anything else

2) Rimless tanks are so good looking I cannot stand that plastic thingy around it.

So needless to say the ugly standard 10g tank went back in the basement.

I liked the 12g long from M. Aqua, however there was no way I could fit a 36 inches long tank in my bedroom, no matter the footprint. So while browsing the internet, I came across a seapora tank: 12g rimless tank; 24''x12''x10''. Its footprint reminds me of the lagoon, which I like. It was also 100$ cheaper than the Mr. Aqua 12g long.

So here's a list of what I have so far:

12g seapora rimless tank (24''x12''x10'')

2x Aquaknight v2 (those lights are 100$ and are pretty powerful, with 12x3W CREE leds)

IM wavelink desktop version

Marina S15 HOB filter

About 7-8lbs of marco dry rock

No sand, this tank will be barebottom

I was thinking of grabbing some smaller pieces of LR from my tank (it's a year old) to get that dry rock alive and make the cycle easier.

Now the plan:

My 1st thought was to turn the 12g into an anemone tank with 2 ocellaris clownfish and keep my reef tank as it is. Now however I much prefer the idea of setting up the reef tank in the 12g, put 2 fish from my lagoon and turn that 25g tank into a clownfish/anemone tank)