Pod Your Reef

Help! Alkalinity

Alyciac327

Alyciac327

Hey!  I need immediate advice!!  I'm new to keeping corals.  My alkalinity was too high at like 13 the other day so I switched stores where I get my water.  I gradually changed the water a little more at a time over the last three days. My corals were looking great this morning and then looked horrible and haven't looked better since after the third water change today. My alkalinity is now too low-at a 6.  I plan to get some to dose into the tank tomorrow when the store opens.  Is it likely my coral will last the night?  Any advice at all is appreciated.

20200517_215248.jpg

20200517_215254.jpg

Please give more info on the tank, volume, other params, salinity, how long the tank has been established...

Large swings of alk are one of the worst things for corals. A swing of 7 over a couple days is not good. What type of water is it? Sounds like the Oceanarium boxed water, that can run high. If you can't mix your own, then you can use the natural saltwater, but always test from box to box, and adjust accordingly. I had boxes that tested around 9, then others that were over 13. If that is all you have access to, then adjust how much water you are changing so that you lower dkh by 1 or lower each day. 

I would test again to check that 6 dkh number, and also check salinity. Remember, alk is related to salinity, lower salinity will have lower alk.  

if you just changed water recently and have access to the higher alk water, i'd add some of that back in. 

Also, what are you getting more of at the LFS? Don't dose an alk buffer to raise it without checking other parameters! This is especially important with small volume tanks. 

What made you think 13 dkh is a bad number btw? 

Edit: Garf posted right before me, but his last sentence is the one you should read, what made you think that 13dkh was bad?