ReefCleaners.org

New With Questions

leith.luke

leith.luke

Hello everyone!

• My name is Luke. I have always had reptiles and tortoises in my care but have always wanted a saltwater tank. There is something about them that just amazes me. I am new to the hobby and just had some questions before I jumped in.
  • First off the tank I was planning on getting is the NUVO Fusion 10 Pro. It looks beautiful to me in pictures and I have watched a couple videos on it. I was planning on buying this bundle from Marine Depot, who seems to be trustworthy. https://www.marinedepot.com/nuvo-fusion-10-pro-aio-10-gallon-aquarium-bundle-innovative-marine
  • Is this a good tank? I have read about it and a lot of people recommend the in-tank media basket. Is that required or could I roll with the one provided?
  • What light would you guys recommend for a tank of this size?
  • And lastly, is there a secret ratio on knowing how much sand and rock you will need for your tank size?
  • As I close, I was planning on getting this, along with a light, some rock, sand, and going from there. I just wanted to set that up and get used to it before I even think about adding life to it. Thank you for your time and I am excited to hear what you all have to say. 

monkeytrumpets

:welcome:

Hi Luke!  I have the 40 gallon version of the Nuvo Fusion, and am currently using the media basket that came with it.  It is pretty sturdy acrylic, and when pushed against the front of the rear chamber, the overflow pours right into the top of the basket.  I'm using filter mat that I replace every few days, rather than the fuzzy ball things that came with it, but that's just my personal preference.