inTank Media Baskets

Orbit Marine lighting help! (noob)-- 20 gallon long

lostboy95

lostboy95

Hey guys! So I've dipped into getting some beginner softie and lps corals and I'm a complete noob to all this lighting jargon and was wondering what y'all would reccomend. As the title says I have an orbit marine IC Loop lighting fixture (this guy right here: https://www.amazon.com/Current-USA-Marine-Aquarium-60-Inch/dp/B00GFTNG3S?th=1).

I'm aware it can keep softies lps and some lower light heartier sps if placed at the top, however what exactly should I keep the lighting at. It has a standard mode with the RGB that has everything at 100% which is super bright and white, and I like it for the most part but the corals don't really pop. I tried a setting with 70% blue and 70% red and it makes a really nice purple color that make the corals look awesome and fluoresce. I would like to keep this kind of lighting all the time so the corals always look that good, right now I've just been switching to the purple color at nighttime. 

My question is if I leave it at the purple color 24/7 is that enough light for the corals to grow? I'm a little confused about how the par works in with this light. Current USA (the company) has a diagram giving general par at certain depths, but they don't say how much light is being put out. Am I to assume that just means the light has to be on full power with all led colors maxed out to get those outputs, or could I receive the same par if I just did all blues? Anyways if anyone could help clear some of this up and suggest led percentage combinations that would be great! Thanks!

partlycloudy531