Innovative Marine Aquariums

Activated Carbon Granules question

Enthrol

As a new hobbyist I'm trying to learn what the different tools we have available to us do.

I'm running into a problem finding out what Activated Carbon actually removes. For instance, GFO removes phosphate. For Carbon though the best I have been able to find is it binds organics, toxins, odor, and yellow pigmentation. 

What should I expect from Carbon when it says organics? Lower nitrate? 

Just want to know what I can use it for other than toxins, odor, and discoloration so I'm using the tool correctly.

It doesn't have a huge impact on nutrients.

Most ppl use it to help reduce toxins from corals, preventing chemical warfare.

I like to use a small amount in a media bag which I change every 3 weeks 

• Like 1

Organics are introduced mainly through fish waste and are the primary cause of yellow tint in water. Organics play an important role in the ecosystem. In most cases, a skimmer is all you need to remove excess organics. You don't want to completely strip your water of organics. 

12 hours ago, MrP said:

Organics are introduced mainly through fish waste and are the primary cause of yellow tint in water. Organics play an important role in the ecosystem. In most cases, a skimmer is all you need to remove excess organics. You don't want to completely strip your water of organics. 

What if I'm not running a skimmer?

I'm not looking to add carbon right now, but based on Clown's response about toxins I might when I have a healthy stock of corals. My tank was set up relatively recently so I dont have much in the way of livestock yet, just looking to better understand.