inTank Media Baskets

Sick Clown in QT

Bigshowff1

Hello,

Im new to saltwater tanks. I recently set up a Red Sea max nano. Started with a mocha Vinci clown who has been doing great for 6 weeks. Added in another clown, within a day the new clown stopped eating and started breathing heavy. The next day, the mocha was acting funny, day after that  is he had heavy breathing and not eating. No spots or anything like that on skin, did notice long stringy white poop. Water levels all good, also have a few other fish and cleaner shrimp all doing great. 

Talked to LFS and based their recommendations, set up a small QT, did a dip in rid-ich plus, added rid-ich to QT as well, added cupramine and then put both fish in QT. The new clown died a few hours later. Mocha is still acting weird but is not eating and swims up at the top of the tank at an upward angle, constantly.

Talked to LFS again, they recommend a freshwater dip and then treat QT with Rid-Ich again.

I haven’t seen mocha get better, but also seems he is not getting worse. He is still it eating. I attached a picture, you can actually see the white poop. 

Question is, I don’t exactly know what is wrong with him, so how long do I keep doing this before I try something else? I also have parazipro, but haven’t used yet.

Thanks in advance.

D0C0F78A-9075-49D4-8314-8638B92B9ED9.png

87DAEA94-E9D1-4186-A570-CAA0B5AC2316.png

Is it eating at all?

General cure soaked food is used for internal parasites. It's fins look ragged as well so perhaps something more is at play here. 

• Like 1
1 hour ago, Bigshowff1 said:

It’s not.  I haven’t seen it eat since Tuesday. 

I would dose Prazipro or General Cure in the water. Hopefully the fish drinks enough of the praziquantel for the medication to be effective.

Well, now he is laying on his side at the bottom of the tank, breathing rapidly. He gets up and swims around every couple of minutes, but only for a few seconds. 

Anything else I should try? Maybe a freshwater dip?