ReefCleaners.org

Riddex's Journey from Beginner To Expert

Riddex

Hi All,

I've been observing this site and others like it for a little while now getting prepared to dive into my first ever tank and I mean ever, I've never even had a Goldfish.

Looking at other peoples journals, I thought it would be great idea to log my journey from being a complete novice to see how I can develop my knowledge with help of you guys and other sources to become an "expert".

So below is my current set up:

I got everything set up and running on the 25th April, I used pre-mixed water from my LFS. I dosed ammonia up to 2ppm and dumped in a bottle of bacteria and have just let it sit with the light off since. 

I tested this morning and my ammonia has all but disappeared and I'm currently in my Nitrite spike around 4ppm but also have Nitrates at around 40ppm so I'm pretty sure that I am only a few days/week away from being fully cycled and ready to go.

Below are some pics of my set up, I'm hoping to add some more rock/barnacles/macro to the tank but have struggled to find any.

20200307_115502.thumb.jpg.65791a51d822d0f430525f33b5f33553.jpg

20200307_115518.thumb.jpg.96c04bd97bfa9dc2c0ff7d83d33bbb62.jpg

I did have a bacterial bloom last week but seems to of cleared up now.

20200303_180750.thumb.jpg.f9780d085c0f7d6508a42c9472de5ab6.jpg

I will of course add livestock slowly below are my plans:

CUC

• 1x Electric Blue Hermit Crab

Image result for electric blue hermit crab

• 1x Cowrie, Bumblebee or Cerith

image.jpeg.c05571aa5725a8d8e34bfd40b15e6a53.jpegimage.jpeg.77df4ddbf925a2df54c11ccab4003490.jpegimage.jpeg.f802feccbf064adeec5119e3c851afd0.jpeg

Fish

• 2x Clownfish - not 100% sure on what breed yet, will see what my LFS has at the time and if they can cut me a deal. Below are the ones I like.

image.jpeg.6d26519ad5493ac22aa952e71bbf6bcb.jpegImage result for clownfishImage result for clownfish

Coral

• 1x Duncan

image.jpeg.610bfd559f5dd2f9df4d28f549ad4c4b.jpeg

• Some Zoa's