SaltCritters.com

Struggles of a beginner

Enthrol

As the title implies, I'm new to the hobby. Have a few sorted posts out there and at the suggestion of another member decided to consolidate my experiences and trials in one place. Hopefully keeping this journal will help me see progress as I look back.

Thank you to everyone that has helped me to this point and a preemptive thank you to everyone that will inevitably help me in the future. 

Tank specs:

Started early January 

Biocube 32 led
25 lbs wet live rock from lfs

40 lbs aragonite dry sand

Sicca 1.5 return pump

2 eheim jager 50w

Intank media basket

Aqamai Kps

Stock lights (photoperiod currently lowered to fight algae)

Livestock:

1 Firefish

1 small Margarita snail

2 red legged hermit crabs

Potential hood modifications:

Due to the numerous posts about Biocubes running hot and summer approaching I'm considering options for hood mods that dont include removing the hood. Since I have a long haired dog that sheds year round and now a fish that is known to jump having a lid is a must.

After talking to a few members on here there are a few options I'm considering.

1. A pair of fans with directional sleeves to blow air into the back chambers through the cut outs. Since adding a fishgaurd between my DT and back chambers I'm not sure how much benefit this would be.

2. Cut out the L-shaped pieces on the inside of the vents along the side ridges of the hood and silicone mesh on the inside. This should allow for more heat exchange, with limited risk of hair getting in the tank.

If this isn't enough I'm also considering cutting out the inner part of the feed door and siliconing mesh there as well.

Will update when temperature starts creeping up.

Water Parameter problems:

Started my tank with lfs saltwater. 

First batch was good on salinity and ph. Didnt check anything else like I should have.