Pod Your Reef

My adventures with reef syphilis (aka flatworms) and their elimination. With an exhaustive guide for Flatworm Exit.

chaostactics

Storytime! (TLimage.gif.f6273bf2128f34f08cfc137d9292e9eb.gifR, Flatworm Exit worked fine for me. Know what flatworms and other pests look like and look often)
Getting any treatable parasite/hitchhiker/ whatever is a lot like getting an STD/STI:
1. It takes as little as one slip up to catch it.
2. It's an embarrassing facepalm moment.
3. You should inspect the tank you're getting corals from for signs/symptoms. (even a seemly "clean tank" may not be but eyeball it pretty carefully before committing to corals if you can.)
4. You NEED to let every person you've given corals to and received corals from know you've got it/them.
5. You need to treat it right away before symptoms get worse.

15 years of reefing and this is my first time getting flatworms. The person I purchased from didn't disclose he had them (claimed he didn't know). I was impatient one day with multiple stressors and just trying to get out the door. I let the specimen containers float for temp acclimation and then put the frags right in. Big mistake 1.

My usual practice is to inspect all frags with a lighted magnifier, remove all frags from frag plugs (things like flatworms can get underneath the coral between the frag and the surface of the frag plug), and dip them with coral dip, then RODI, then add them to tank. In an ideal world, everyone would have a frag tank to do QT in, but much like a Ferrari many reefers out there lack either the budget or space or both.

I noticed the flatworms later that day. Panicked vacuumed them out after stabbing as many as I could see with a fine pointed scalpel. I thought I got them all. Big mistake number 2. It was at this point I should have gone to an LFS and bought Flatworm Exit or at least started with an order on Amazon.