Pod Your Reef

Back to square 1 on livestock plans

Gobynose

Hi all,

it seems that the fish I thought would be available for my tank are not actually available so I’m back with more questions.

I have a 20 gallon tank that is 2ft x 1ft by 16”. I am interested in having three fish at the very most, but really I’d like to stick with two. 

This is my first saltwater tank and since I’m totally new at this I only want captive bred fish. I don’t feel right pulling something out of the ocean and then potentially killing it because I haven’t learned enough.

I’re read Igreens thread for fish recommendations.

Here are my questions.

1) Besides Pacific East, LiveAquaria and AlgaeBarn is there anywhere a person can purchase one or two captive bred fish online? I have found several wholesalers but my LFS doesn’t have an account with a couple of them.

2) I frequently see Yellow Watchman Gobies recommended for small tanks. Could I really keep one in my 20 gallon for its entire life and have it be happy? If you have one of these fish, how long have you had it/how old is it and how big is it?

3) I can definitely get captive bred ocellaris. I’m nervous about their aggression as they mature. I want to be as sure as possible that I can care for whatever fish I get for it’s entire lifespan in my tank. I’ve read a lot of reports of the female beating up the male to the point where one fish has to be moved once they reach maturity and I don’t have the space or money to set up a second tank. Have you had a pair of clowns develop issues? Can a single clown be kept happily? If I got a single clown would I ever be able to put another fish in the tank?

4) Pacific East seems to have tiger gobies (tigrigobiua macradon) available and I do like them a lot but I also would love to have fish that interact with each other. Does anybody know if these guys will pair with each other in a small tank?