Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

Shooterm21's First Reef 365 AIO Challenge

Shooterm21

Hello everyone!  I've had the itch for a long time to have a saltwater reef tank and recently decided to join the hobby with a small AIO tank.  I am admittedly a complete novice in reef keeping so I'm sure I will have a ton of questions along the way.  My plan is to take it slow and keep it simple.  I have been in the fish keeping hobby for quite some time, and have had pretty good luck in the past with many different varieties of fish and tanks.  Hopefully this experience will help me along the way!

I picked up this 14 gallon Bio Cube about a week and a half ago (and since have found this forum and challenge) and can't wait to get started.  I did empty the tank to get this shot as I've had water and some rock in it for about 10 days (again I wish I would have found this BEFORE I filled it the first time!).  Everything is stock at the moment, but I will be adding/upgrading components as needed.  I've already bought a smart power strip to control the lights as this old model doesn't have any fancy timers built in like the newer ones do.  I have to dig through my stash of aquarium stuff.... I know I have several heaters and wave makers around here somewhere!

I'm really hoping to accomplish two things by entering this challenge.  First is to learn as much as I can about building a thriving nano reef tank.  Second is to keep myself motivated to make this tank the best it can be for my livestock.  I will try to get a picture tomorrow before work of the tank with the rock and water in place.  An added bonus would be to learn how to take a decent picture!

image.thumb.png.8e819ca7dfce6686554c8c212e8d2ee7.png

• Like 6