Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

15 Gallon Column Reef Tank

Larry101

Hello, I am a newbie to the hobby of saltwater aquarium keeping, but I do have experience with freshwater aquariums even though I know the two are very different. I recently bought a 15 gallon aqueon column tank which is going to be a reef aquarium with corals, live rock, and fish. I have the live sand and dry rock and I spiked the ammonia around 2 weeks ago with raw shrimp (very smelly and I don't ever recommend). I am leaving for a 2 week vacation in 4 weeks so I'm hoping by the time I come back the take will be ready for fish. I am hoping to get 2 clownish for this setup but please let me know what you think about that. Also i will be adding my clean up crew before I leave for vacation. I have an aquaclear 50 HOB filter, a 50 watt heater, and 240gph power head. Once I start with the corals in a couple of months (I want to take this slow as I know patience is key). I am using rodi water with instant ocean sea salt. I would like to know your thoughts on my livestock plans, my equipment in general, lighting recommendations for the corals (I am looking for  a low budget option that will allow me to keep the aquarium hood on as I believe it helps with the evaporaton. Any advise helps as I am a newbie and this is my first tank ever. Thanks!

Leaving for 2 weeks is going to be an issue. Your cleanup crew is going to be very unhappy with no food for that long, since there isn't going to be much for them to eat in a new tank without any lighting. Can you get an auto-feeder to dispense a small amount of food every day for them? 

What are the dimensions of the tank? Column tanks often aren't at all ideal, because most fish (excluding seahorses) primarily swim on the horizontal plane. It also means the light level is often way lower at the bottom than the top. You may need a tall rockscape to get certain things close enough to the light, if you go with a cheaper, weaker light.