Innovative Marine Aquariums

Hello all, new to this forum and the nano community.  I currently have a 54 Gal Aqueon corner tank, which was my first saltwater tank. I have successfully had that tank running from July 2019 and in that time, I instantly fell in love with owning and maintaining ( weird, I know) a saltwater aquarium, its almost therapeutic. I find myself now always looking for places to put a tank in my small ish home and I decided to look for nano for my bedroom. Marineandreef had a sweet deal for the 16 biocube with stand for $269 (after discount and sale) and I decided it was time to expand ha. After convincing wifey (really just ordering and apologizing after), I found myself tracking and waiting. Fast fwd to today, I have the stand set up in the corner of our room with the nano boxed back up ( did not want the toddlers to move it around and possibly drop it empty). I am currently studying, reading the journals and ordering the necessary items needed to begin the tank and start the cycle (so much fun, bleh). Enough backstory, the following will be about the nano

I decided to start a journal from the very beginning of this nano to notate what is planned and get advice. 

As far as Filtration, I have decided to use the included basket for now with the following in order:

Poly Filter Floss

SeaChem Purigen

SeaChem Matrix bio-media in bag (obviously)

I have contemplated so much on the filtration and am open to any suggestions. I do not think I will be doing a refug at this time, so that will not be currently considered. 

The Heater I have decided to go with is the Aqueon Pro 100W, which will be placed in the 1st chamber after false floor is removed. 

Rock & Substrate:

Walt Smith Reef Rock 2.1 20lb dry purple rock

Carribsea fiji pink live sand 20lb

I do plan on taking some of the smaller pieces of live rock from my current 54 gal to assist in seeding nano.