inTank Media Baskets

RO ozonated versus carbon filtered water

Gakarl100

So back in the day before I got a rodi unit I used to buy RO ozonated water for my nano a decade ago. Actually it worked out well never had issues. I don’t have a rodi filter anymore and thought in the mean time until I get one I might use RO ozonated water again. I also noticed they carry RO carbon filtered water at the store. Now anyone have any reasons not to use either of these?  Leaning toward the RO ozonated since that’s what I used previously with no issues but figured I’d check before doing so this time and if you all think ozonated might be better than carbon filtered RO. Or is that a bad idea all together...?

I'm not an expert, so wait for others to chime in, but I'm not sure what adding ozone to the water does for it, and running it through carbon seems redundant. But as I said I'm no expert. Most folks recommend distilled water from the grocery store if that is available. If you've used something in he past and it worked for you then I'd say go for it. You could pick up a TDS meter to test the waters to help you make your decision

• Like 1
20 minutes ago, Pjanssen said:

I'm not an expert, so wait for others to chime in, but I'm not sure what adding ozone to the water does for it, and running it through carbon seems redundant. But as I said I'm no expert. Most folks recommend distilled water from the grocery store if that is available. If you've used something in he past and it worked for you then I'd say go for it. You could pick up a TDS meter to test the waters to help you make your decision

Distilled - good to know, thanks!  I prefer to make my own saltwater since cheaper than buying the premade salt water from LFS.

• Like 1
11 minutes ago, Clown79 said:

Distilled is the better option. It's pure water whereas RO still has tds etc in it. RO great for drinking but still not pure.

Thanks!  Then whats different with RODI?

16 minutes ago, Gakarl100 said: