SaltCritters.com

RedCrow's Xenia Swamp Jar - 365 Challenge

RedCrow

I've been considering doing a pico jar for a couple months, and so I though this competition would be a good excuse to pull the trigger. 

My goal/theme for this jar is to have a space for green star polyps and pulsing xenia to go wild and take over the whole aquascape without threatening any other corals. Those two species will most likely be the only corals in the tank.

For the sake of my personal finances, I'm building this system as cheaply as possible. All equipment and prices are as follows:

System:

• Tank: Anchor Hawking Heritage 2 gallon jar - $18
  • Pump: Generic 95 GPH pump from amazon - $9
  • Return lines - $7
  • Heater: Aqueon 50w preset - $8
  • Lighting: Lominie Asta - already had - $0
  • Black Acrylic: already had - $0
  • Black silicone: already had - $0

Scape:

• 4lbs dry rock - $12
  • Live rock rubble from a refugium - $0
  • Aragonite sand, already had - $0

Curent total: $54

Without further ado:

RA8LV6e.jpg

I'm from the Midwest; ranch goes on everything.

do1BhhL.jpg

4HHJmLV.jpg

Cardboard mock-up of the rear chamber. The contour of the jar is going to make the acrylic work a bit more complex

iHsHixr.jpg

B1DvpBG.jpg

I originally had attempted to form the chamber out of a single piece of acrylic heated in the oven. It didn't go well. Unfortunately I didn't take any photos, so i can't share what a mess that was. Though maybe for the sake of my pride that's a good thing...

3AqP0tj.jpg

Nohb259.jpg

Here's the finished piece siliconed into the jar.

1KJZM7A.jpg

And here's where it's at right now, waiting for the silicon to cure.

Hoping to be able to scape and fill tomorrow.

I'm really excited about this challenge! Good luck to all, let's have some fun!

• Like 12
  • Wow 4
This guy is extra salty
1 hour ago, RedCrow said:

I've been considering doing a pico jar for a couple months, and so I though this competition would be a good excuse to pull the trigger.