ReefCleaners.org

Nano Reef - First Timer

Rudee

Hey y'all. I'm new to salt water and looking to start my first nano reef. I have a standard 10g long glass tank. Before I make any purchasing decisions I figured I'd post what I was planning to do here and get some advice. I'm not 100% sold on even sticking with this tank. I've read a TON of the forums and library content on this site and found it to be immensely helpful and educational. So I'm off to my LFS with my oldest daughter to get excited and just gawk and all the beautiful stuff. I'll take a break for the Super Bowl and come back with some specifics. I don't know a lot about coral but I was born in Hawaii and spent a lot of time in VA/NC so I love coastal/tropical stuff. 

What I would like to accomplish...

This tank is for me to keep me company at my desk at home. I have PTSD from the Marine Corps so I think this would be really good for me as a method of therapy (both watching it and maintaining it).

Since I don't know much yet I figure it's perfect or the "patience game" because I can get my system set up and start the cycle while I figure out what direction I want to go. I want a lot of color and for the focus to be the reef. If I get one fish, that would probably be the max. I am very interested in the balance of the sand and rock with the coral and cleanup crew. That will definitely be my focus for now. 

I need to learn more about the different types of coral because I don't even know the abbreviations yet. I DO know that I really like Zoanthids.

I'm an IT Engineer by day so I plan to use my strengths in digital automation to help with my project. I'm thinking about connecting my nano reef to a raspberry pi and streaming the data to a zabbix or nagios server so I can trend the levels of various measurements. That's my secondary hobby so will no doubt bleed into each other (i.e. chatbot notifications and alert thresholds).

Things I'm looking at / researching...