ReefCleaners.org

Introduction & Questions

olive

Hey, I've been lurking on the forum for a while and I've been interested in setting up a reef tank for much longer. I thought I'd introduce myself and ask a few questions that I couldn't find clear answers to. 

My nickname is Olive or Oli, and I am a high school student and complete science geek. Once I discovered the chemistry involved with aquariums, I started a 5g planted betta tank and I have been very successful with that. However, I am looking for more of a challenge. I had originally steered away from saltwater in general because I heard it was hard, but after more research it sounded just like the challenge I wanted. I am on a semi-budget, but am willing to spend the money to maintain the best quality of life for both my fish and corals.

Here is a list of equipment I have figured out:

- standard 20g long

I would go larger, but it won't be long until I go to college and I don't know what amount of maintenance my parents are willing to do, or if they are willing to any at all

- Seachem Tidal HOB 55

I have heard nothing but good things about this filter + it has a surface skimmer

- Koralia nano powerhead 

And here are my questions:

- What light do you recommend for softies and LPS (I would prefer something under or around $200)? I may keep some SPS near the top but I prefer lots of movement

- What is the best pellet/flake food? How often should I feed my tank? I will feed frozen a lot of the time, but I can't seem to find many people talking about what pellets/flakes they feed.

- What would you suggest for stocking a 20g long? I am interested in unique fish (not clowns, I love them but I definitely would not keep a pair) that won't break the bank

- I won't be staring this till mid-March...What do you wish you had known more about before you got your first reef?

Any other advice would be appreciated and sorry for all the questions.

• Like 2
Thrassian Atoll