Cultivated Reef

Emergency Salinity Issues

froodyzoa

I'm pretty new to this, but had a little tank going for a few months with some palys, zoas, and a mushroom. The way it was set up I couldn't really clean it, so three days ago or so I transferred it to a slightly bigger tank. I started noticing that none of the corals had really opened up, and the zoas had bubbles forming around them. I checked parameters and everything seemed fine, but today I double checked Salinity and it turned out I mixed it to 1.015 instead of 1.025. I did an emergency adjustment, now I'm just waiting. Is there any way to salvage this, or is it a wait and see kinda thing? 

How did you do the emergency adjustment? If it was to rapidly bring the salinity from 1.015 to 1.025, then I am afraid that whatever damage has been done is done.  Corals don't like sudden changes in parameters, and you had two sudden changes, one down and one up.  And with salinity changes, all other params like alk and calcium change.  Try and avoid anymore sudden changes.  It wouldn't hurt to do another couple smaller water changes, provided the params of the saltwatet mix match. 

Other things to be aware of are temp and lighting.  Is the new tank deeper, and are they getting enough/too much light? Is the heater sufficiently heating the new tank?

Good thing is that zoas, palys and shrooms can be a bit more hardy, give it time and see what happens. I'd run carbon to get rid of any toxins they may be releasing, even with regular water changes I have seen palys and shrooms release slime. Remove anything that looks to be dying before it pollutes the tank. Bubbles may be simply from adding new water to the tank, and any new sand. 

• Like 2
  • Thanks 1