Cultivated Reef

DIY Automation-Equipment, Temperaure, ph, Lights, Dosers, & ATO!

Schreiber

Hey there everyone, thought some fellow DIY'ers would enjoy my latest project! I've been running a Reef-Pi build for a couple years now, but got tired of the messy wiring & having to re-solder it every time I wanted to add a feature. Spent some time to design a circuit board that handles all the connections for me & it's made life 100x's easier. Meet Leviathan!

679467037_Unpopulated(FullBoardShrunk).thumb.JPG.280da1e0a113788525bf0a2c1324fc9a.JPG

It's been a really fun project & it's already saved me when I forgot to turn my tank heater back on after a water change. I designed & 3D printed a custom enclosure for it too.

1349521367_16Outletfromfront.thumb.JPG.265a2223dbef9d106e897629e52c0d04.JPG

I've also put a simple google site together that has video of it working & descriptions of all the features, if you're curious. 

Does anyone else out there have a DIY automation setup to get away from dropping nearly a grand on an Apex?

• Like 3
  • Wow 1

That's a super cool box - I've tinkered around with raspberry pi's before, but as a developer, I've spent more time tinkering around with my Radions. Since their entire platform is cloud based, everything is running over HTTP, you can use tools like Wireshark and USBPcap to pretty easily observe everything that is going on.

If you have a ReefLink (or they release a unix version of their driver to do it over USB), you can pretty easily control your Radion using a controller you built with a pi and do all kinds of cool stuff using their "livedemo" endpoint without worrying about bricking your expensive light by programming it.