inTank Media Baskets

Sabdali's 50 gallon lagoon

Sabdali

I managed to get an amazing deal on a nearly complete set up for a 50 gallon lagoon and so my journey to saltwater begins. I have zero experience with saltwater and I'm hoping having the journal and the help from everyone hear will allow me to not kill everything I put in the tank. I do have aquarium experience as I have been keeping freshwater tanks for the past 12 years. 

The tank is still in the process of being set up but my current equipment is:

Tank: 50 gallon lagoon 28 x 24 x 18

Filter: 30 gallon sump 

Skimmer: Reef octopus classic 150sss

Lights: currently viparspectra black box

Flow: 2 generic wavemakers

Ato: tunze osmolator

Currently, the lights I have are too big for the tank. I'm sure it'll work but the light bleed will be pretty rough. Will replace as soon as I can. Also, I will be putting just a bit of sand at the bottom. Nothing remotely close to a deep sand bed though. 

I plan on keeping mostly easier corals such as zoas and mushrooms, with an emphasis on euphiyllias like hammers or torches. Ideally, it'd eventually be relatively low maintenance with little dosing although I can always learn how to dose if it comes to that. 

I've made a rough aquascape that looks pretty appealing but im not sure if it's good for flow or coral placement. Any advice and help will always be appreciated. 

Here are some pictures of current progress. This will be a relatively slow build as I'm in my senior year of college and that will take priority. 

IMG_20191124_165648.jpg

IMG_20191124_165700.jpg

IMG_20191124_165652.jpg

IMG_20191124_212048.jpg

IMG_20191124_212038.jpg

• Like 4
  • Wow 1

Hey Matteo! I actually just read up on your tank journal. It really is an inspiration. 

I'm thinking of putting a radion xr15 since black friday sales will be really nice. If not, I'll probably browse the marketplace and try to pick up a quality light used.