Seadragon

Seadragon's 10g School Nano Reef: No Water Changes. GSP & Xenia Only.

Seadragon

The School Nano Reef: Simplicity Meets Ultra Low Maintenance

WHY ARE YOU DOING THIS?!

For the past year, the wife really wanted a nano reef tank for her classroom to be viewed by hundreds of students, their parents, and her co-teachers.  She was so determined and excited about this that she told all of her co-teachers that she is getting one even before I planned out the logistics of such a feat (since I'm brand new to saltwater tanks and wasn't too eager at the time to spend the time and money to learn such a thing).  But, I didn't want to let her and her friends down, thus the School Nano Reef Tank was born on 9/17/2019, a week after my Office Nano Reef Tank was born which can be found here.  I also wanted to document this tank separately from my Office Nano Reef since it has been having a host of it's own unique types of issues which included Dino's up until recently which I'll detail in a separate post.

MY PRIMARY GOALS

I have 3 primary goals for this nano reef:

1. Extremely low maintenance since it can be weeks before I'm able to visit this tank to perform any type of maintenance.

2. To have GSP cover the majority of the larger rocks and to have some Pulsing Xenia on the smaller isolated island rocks.

3. Cute fish or ones with big personalities or functional critters that help clean.

EL CHEAPO 10 GALLON AQUEON AQUARIUM FROM PETCO FEATURES

Price: $14.99 (I missed the dollar per gallon sale, but the dream must move forward!)

◕ Tank Length: 20.25"

◕ Tank Width: 10.5"

◕ Tank Height: 12.625"

◕ Material: Glass

TANK HIGH LEVEL CHARACTERISTICS

⇨ Aquascape : Nature's Ocean 12-Inch Coral Base Rocks (they gave me 2 gigantic aragonite rocks so I spent hours trying to break them apart by throwing them against the concrete.  I was a madman on a mission!)

⇨ Sand : 10 pounds of Nature's Ocean Natural White No.0 Bio-Activ Aragonite Live Sand