Innovative Marine Aquariums

Odd Clownfish Behavior

Chris O

This morning I looked into my 10g nano tank and saw some unexpected behavior from my black ocellaris clown. It looked like (presumably she) was cleaning off a rock. the 2 clowns I have usually hang in the corner under the filter, so it was odd to see the clown in the middle of the tank. To give some background:

I set up the tank 3 months ago, it's a 10g nano. I had a fish only tank with a blue damsel and a mandarin dragonet years ago. I have some experience with fish but many years ago.

I bought the clowns about 2 months ago. One is orange and one is black introduced at the same time to the tank. The black one is slightly larger than the orange one.

The clowns fought a bit at the beginning and still seem to fight now and then but not like they did for the first month. I bought them each at about an inch in size.

My first thought is that the clownfish is preparing the rock to lay eggs, however, it seems way too early for that considering they were purchased a few months ago. The exception being that it might have already been a mature female when I bought it from the store, however, it seems unlikely. Does anyone have any thoughts? I included a link to a video I took this morning and uploaded it to Youtube to get some second opinions. Let me know what you all think.

Best,

Chris

• Like 1
1 minute ago, Chris O said:

This morning I looked into my 10g nano tank and saw some unexpected behavior from my black ocellaris clown. It looked like (presumably she) was cleaning off a rock. the 2 clowns I have usually hang in the corner under the filter, so it was odd to see the clown in the middle of the tank. To give some background:

I set up the tank 3 months ago, it's a 10g nano. I had a fish only tank with a blue damsel and a mandarin dragonet years ago. I have some experience with fish but many years ago.